Bernhagen and Linsley Grace Victory Lane in CWRA Action at Dells Raceway Park

WIS. DELLS, WI – Two first time winners in CWRA Stars to Legends Tour action found themselves in victory lane Saturday night at Dells Raceway Park, Wis. Dells, WI., in the Marlin Walbeck Classic, as Jesse Bernhagen Stevens Point, WI., and Dan Lindsley, Iron Mountain, MI., each captured 30 lap Feature events. The 30 lap main event lengths were in honor of longtime Wisconsin racer Walbeck, who used that number throughout his racing career.

With an excellent field of 18 Super Late Model machines taking the green flag in Feature number one, it was Derrick Van Dreel, Wis. Rapids, WI., grabbing the lead from his pole position starting spot. Van Dreel led a handful of laps before a caution flag waved for a spin by Tour point leader Mark Mackesy, Wausau, WI.  Action resumed with Van Dreel still leading with Frank Nitzke, Berlin, WI., and Darek Gress, Neillsville, WI., in hot pursuit. Bernhagen meanwhile was already up to 4th position from his 10th starting spot and putting pressure on the leading trio of drivers. With half the race complete it was still Van Dreel in front, but Bernhagen who is also a Rookie driver on the Tour this year, was making the outside groove of the 1/3 mile banked paved oval work, taking the lead with 7 laps remaining. Bernhagen stretched his lead the remaining distance taking the checkered flag by 5 car lengths over Gress, Jeff Weinfurter, Wis. Rapids, WI., Joey Pontbriand, making the 4 hour drive from Norway, MI., Nitzke, and Van Dreel the top six finishers. According to Bernhagen, with the car he was competing with on the night, a win wasn’t expected. “We have never run that well with this car, but tonight everything worked and we got our first win”



With a 10 car inversion for the second 30 lapper it was Darren Jackson, Wis. Rapids, WI., starting from the pole position and immediately jumping into the lead. Dan Lindsley was right behind and wasted no time getting alongside Jackson by lap 3 taking the top spot one circuit later. The Lindsley car was on rails and he stretched his lead to 10 car lengths in no time. The rest of the 17 car starting field was mired in traffic with Darek Gress moving into the top 5 of the fastest group of cars on lap 10. Joey Pontbriand was again having a competitive run as he, Gress, and Mark Mackesy from 11th starting spot, began battling for the 3rd position. Barring mechanical issues, Lindsley was not to be caught as he had a straightaway lead with 9 laps remaining. A caution waving incident for a Mackesy spin with 4 laps to go bunched up the field however, but Lindsley was up to the task, leading the rest of the way to the Checkered flag for his first CWRA Stars to Legends Tour win. Jackson hung on to second at the finish and was followed by Jeff Weinfurter, Pontbriand, Mackesy and Gress. According to Lindsley, it was a last minute decision to race at the Dells track tonight. “Where we normally race at Norway Speedway, (MI) was cancelled, so we decided to make the 4 hour drive here to race. It paid off and we won the Feature!”


The 19 car field of CWRA cars on hand for the show was a new high for the group, and the n

ext action they will see is Friday night, August 10th, at the Golden Sands Speedway, Plover, WI.


30 lap Feature one 1. Jesse Bernhagen, Stevens Point, WI., 2. Darek Gress, Neillsville, WI., 3. Jeff Weinfurter, Wis. Rapids, WI., 4.Joey Pontbriand, Iron River, MI., 5. Frank Nitzke, Berlin, WI., 6. Derrick Van Dreel, Wis. Rapids, WI., 7. Chad Devine, Appleton, WI.,, 8. Dan Lindsley, Iron Mountain, MI.,, 9. Jesse Pokszyk Friendship, WI., 10. Darren Jackson, Wis. Rapids, WI., 11. Mark Mackesy, Wausau, WI., 12. Brian Henry, Omro, WI.,  13. Monte Gress, Neillsville, WI., 14. Rachel Kallas, Winneconne, WI., 15. Mike Sievers, Wis. Rapids, WI.,  WI., 16. Dave Neitzke, Eureka, WI., 17. Greg Matthews, Wis. Rapids, WI., 18. Tod Stenson, Wis. Dells, WI.


30 lap Feature two 1. Lindsley, 2 Jackson, 3. Weinfurter, 4. Pontbriand, 5. Mackesy, 6. D. Gress, 7. Bernhagen, 8. Nitzke, 9. Pokszyk, 10. Van Dreel,, 11. Henry, 12. M. Gress, 13. Kallas,  14. Devine, 15. Matthews, 16. Neitzke,, 17. Sievers.

Time 1. Mackesy



10% off Product certificate      5th place Feature one             Frank Nitzke

                                                5th place Feature two             Mark Mackesy


Coleman Racing Products

$50 Product certificate “Brake of the Race”  Feature one      Tod Stenson bad break

$50 Product certificate “Brake of the Race” Feature two       Dan Lindsley break of race


Howe Racing Ent.     

$50 Product certificate Hard Charger        Feature one         Jesse Bernhagen 10th-1st

$50 Product certificate Hard Charger       Feature two          Mark Mackesy 11th-5th


Tiry’s Race Engines

$100 off certificate                                     Feature one           Darren Jackson 10th

$100 off certificate                                    Feature two            Derrick Van Dreel 10th

Leave a Reply