Weinfurter, Morrissey, Win In Cwra Stars To Legends Tour Action At Marshfield Speedway

            MARSHFIELD, WI – Two familiar names in racing circles, Jeff Weinfurter, Wis. Rapids, WI., and Andrew Morrissey, Deerfield, WI., were the big winners in CWRA Stars to Legends Tour, as presented by Smiley’s Old Time Diner competition Saturday night, at Marshfield Motor Speedway, Marshfield, WI. Both drivers, were victorious for the first time on Tour this year, taking wins in the two 30 lap Feature races.

            Joey Pontbriand, Norway, MI., and Derrick Van Dreel, Kellner, WI., paced the field from their front row starting spots in the 1st 30 lap main, with Pontbriand edging in front. Van Dreel kept the pressure on however, taking the lead from Pontbriand on lap 5. The two had to contend with Weinfurter who was quickly moving to the front and up to 3rd. In the blink of an eye, Weinfurter swooped by the leading duo grabbing the top spot on lap 11. Weinfurter stretched his lead and although a caution for a spin slowed action, was able to hold off the field the last 4 laps and take the win. Morrissey, who had started deep in the field moved into 2nd position with two laps to go, but that was as far as he would get, placing 2nd at the checkered flag. Van Dreel in his best run of the season placed 3rd, and was followed by Darek Gress, Neillsville, WI., Darren Jackson, Wis. Rapids, WI., and Paul Paine, Mound, MN.

            The 2nd 30 lap Feature started with Mike Sievers, Wis. Rapids, WI., and Hunter Stenson, Wis. Dells, WI., leading the way. Sievers broke free and assumed the lead on lap 3. Jesse Pokszyk, Friendship, Wis., in his first Tour start of the year was moving up fast, grabbing the top spot on lap 6. A caution for a pair of spins slowed action, but when the green flag waved it was once again Pokszyk out front. The field was tightly bunched behind Pokszyk, but Chad Butz, Green Bay, WI., broke free and took over the 2nd position. He made short work of Pokszyk, taking the lead on lap 10. Butz built up a substantial lead, but a couple more cautions, including one that Found Darren Jackson on his roof, slowed action allowing Morrissey to move into the 2nd position from well back in the field. Butz continued in front, but the Morrissey challenge proved to be too much as he motored in front with 5 laps left in the race. That’s how they would finish, with Morrissey taking the win followed by Butz, Weinfurter, Frank Nitzke, Berlin, WI., Mark Mackesy, Wausau, WI., and Darek Gress, the top 6.     

            A field of 30 CWRA Stars to Legends Tour Late Models participated in the nights action in front of a sizeable crowd at the Marshfield Speed plant.

            Next action for the CWRA Tour will be the Albert Getzloff Memorial race, Friday, June 14th, at the Golden Sands Speedway, Plover, WI.


30 lap Feature one 1. Jeff Weinfurter, Wis. Rapids, WI., 2. Andrew Morrissey, Deerfield, WI., 3. Derrick Van Dreel, Kellner, WI., 4. Darek Gress, Neillsville, WI., 5. Darren Jackson, Wis. Rapids, WI., 6. Paul Paine, Mound, MN., 7. Mark Mackesy, Wausau, WI., 8. Joey Pontbriand, Norway, MI., 9. Travis Volm, Mosinee, WI., 10. Nick Roehl, Fond Du Lac, WI., 11. Harley Jankowski, Sparta, WI., 12. Chad Butz, Green Bay, WI., 13. Frank Nitzke, Berlin, WI., 14. Dillon Mackesy, Wausau, WI., 15. Mitch Stankowski, Wausau, WI., 16. Putch Bentley, Iron River, MI., 17. Rachel Kallas, Winneconne, WI., 18. Jesse Pokszyk, Friendship, WI., 19. Brett Breitenfeldt, Wausau, WI., 20. Hunter Stenson, Wis. Dells, WI., 21. Mike Sievers, Wis. Rapids, WI., 22. Curt Tillman, Rockton, IL., 23.Greg Back, Ringle, WI.,24. Tod Stenson, Wis. Dells, WI., 25. Rob Christen, Holmen, WI., 26. Chad Devine, Appleton, WI., 27. Greg Matthews, Wis. Rapids, WI., 28. Monte Gress, Neillsville, WI., 29. Mike Reichenberger, Appleton, WI., 30. Alyssa Larson, Green Bay,

30 Lap Feature two 1. Morrissey, 2. Butz, 3. Weinfurter, 4. Nitzke, 5. M. Mackesy, 6. D. Gress, 7. Pokszyk, 8. D. Mackesy, 9. Roehl, 10. Jankowski, 11. Paine, 12. Volm, 13. H. Stenson, 14. Bentley, 15. Reichenberger, 16. Back, 17. Sievers, 18. Kallas, 19. Christen, 20. T. Stenson, 21. Matthews, 22. Devine, 23. Tillman, 24. Jackson, 25. M. Gress, 26. Breitenfeldt, 27. Pontbriand, 28. Van Dreel, 29. Larson, 30. Stankowski, DNS.

Group Qualifying 1. Morrissey.

AR Bodies      

10% off Product certificate     5th place Feature one             Darren Jackson

                                                5th place Feature two             Mark Mackesy

Bentley Trucking $100 cash  Fast Qualifier                          Andrew Morrissey

Coleman Racing Products

$50 Product certificate “Brake of the Race”  Feature one     Frank Nitzke

$50 Product certificate “Brake of the Race” Feature two      Darren Jackson wreck

Diamond Racing Wheels $50 certificate 1st Feature           Jeff Weinfurter

                                          $50 certificate 2nd Feature          Andrew Morrissey

Don’s Auto and Truck           Checkers     $25 cash              Jeff Weinfurter

                                                      or           $25 cash              Andrew Morrissey

                                                Wreckers     $50 cash              Darren Jackson

Howe Racing Ent.     

$50 Product certificate Hard Charger        Feature one        Andrew Morrissey

$50 Product certificate Hard Charger       Feature two         Andrew Morrissey

QA-1 Prec. Products        $50 certificate  Feature one        Paul Paine, 6th

                                          $50 certificate Feature two        Darek Gress

Tiry’s Race Engines

$100 off certificate                                    Feature one        Travis Volm, 9th$100 off certificate                                   Feature two        Nick Roehl, 9th